Syracuse vs. Brooklyn vs. NYLS? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Nyclawstudent3355

New

Syracuse vs. Brooklyn vs. NYLS?

Post by Nyclawstudent3355 » Sat Jan 12, 2019 1:05 am

Hi guys,

Hoping for some advice on choosing between Syracuse and Brooklyn. Syracuse has offered a $30k/year scholarship; Brooklyn would be full price.

- GPA 2.85/LSAT 163

- I 100% want to work in big law in either corporate or real estate.

- I currently work as a paralegal at a tier 1 firm (Gibson Dunn/Greenberg Traurig/Holland & Knight type). I would be able to come back as a summer associate during law school.

- Ultimately want to work in NYC. Significant connections there.

- Will be graduating debt free regardless but the scholarship is definitely a significant number which I will definitely take into consideration.

Which school would you choose if you were in my position? Any advice is appreciated. Thanks!

QContinuum

Re: Syracuse vs. Brooklyn vs. NYLS?

Post by QContinuum » Sat Jan 12, 2019 12:40 pm

Nyclawstudent3355 wrote:- I currently work as a paralegal at a tier 1 firm (Gibson Dunn/Greenberg Traurig/Holland & Knight type). I would be able to come back as a summer associate during law school.
How sure are you about this? Is this guaranteed in writing from the firm? Or is this a verbal reassurance from a partner that "of course you'd be able to summer here!"? Because the verbal reassurance wouldn't really mean anything (unless the partner in question is like the office's leading rainmaker or managing partner or whatnot, and even then I'd recommend really circling back and asking the tough questions, like... "you mean regardless of my 1L grades?").

cavalier1138

Post by cavalier1138 » Sat Jan 12, 2019 1:37 pm

Yeah, I would be absolutely shocked if a firm like Gibson was extending guaranteed offers like that just based on your paralegal work. People at top schools routinely don't get callbacks from that tier of firm.

Nyclawstudent3355

New