Does this make sense? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Chess23

New

Does this make sense?

Post by Chess23 » Thu Nov 01, 2018 9:08 am

I am currently studying for the LSAT and after reading some of the posts on this forum I’m wondering if the plan I had in mind actually makes sense so I would love any input. I do not plan to go into BigLaw. My plan is to become self-employed and create my own business focusing on real estate law (I’m currently a broker) and maybe some estate law as well. Given my plan to be an entrepreneur rather than win the favor of large law firms, does which school I go to really matter? The current thinking is to try to get a substantial or full scholarship to a low/unranked school. My spouse will be working full time covering cost of living (within reason as that depends on the location greatly). Hoping to get a paid for law education in a relatively cheap location and then start my own practice. Is this feasible/realistic? Great full for any insights

QContinuum

Re: Does this make sense?

Post by QContinuum » Thu Nov 01, 2018 11:51 am

If your plan is to hang your own shingle, no, you don't need to attend a T13/T20 or even a T1. But consider the following points, if you haven't already:
  • What's your uGPA? If you have a strong uGPA, you should try to do well on the LSAT and attend a high-ranked law school. Even if you don't have a good uGPA, you can still get into a high-ranked law school with a high-enough LSAT. The T13/T20/T1 award merit scholarships, including full scholarships. Why attend a third-tier school for free if you could attend a high-ranked school - which would give you much greater career flexibility down the road - for free?
  • Going back again to career flexibility, how committed are you to the idea of hanging your own shingle? Have you researched the challenges and difficulties involved in solo practice? Are you aware of what your likely income will be?

mmac

New