Should I hold or reapply? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Hold or Reapply?

Hold
No votes
Reapply
No votes

Total votes: 0

legallyminded

New

Should I hold or reapply?

Post by legallyminded » Sun Oct 14, 2018 2:23 am

I am planning to pursue a career in public interest. I am very interested in possibly clerking after law school. I would also eventually like to work as a professor - much later down the road. I deferred a T8 school but was waitlisted at HLS until August of this year when I was ultimately rejected. I am a very recent college grad. I am now gaining work experience. I am unsure if I should aim to reapply to HLS in 2020. This would entail mainly working to raise my relatively low LSAT score. I spent a great deal of time studying for the LSAT and was distracted during the actual test - I am uncertain if I would be able to considerably raise my score, especially if things go wrong again during my retake. I am also uncertain of the effect that law school ranking would have on east coast PI job prospects once you get past T8 - I would love to hear more about this. If BigLaw was even a thought, I would jump at the chance to reapply to HLS - however, I have absolutely no interest in pursuing corporate. I should also mention that the T8 I am currently holding has one of the top programs for the specific PI field that I want to enter. However, I am very willing to put the work in for HLS if it would help my career considerably more. Should I hold the T8 school or should I reapply to HLS? I would greatly appreciate thoughts on the matter.

QContinuum

Re: Should I hold or reapply?

Post by QContinuum » Sun Oct 14, 2018 12:31 pm