Decision to enroll on NON ABA School Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Mantrain

New

Decision to enroll on NON ABA School

Post by Mantrain » Mon Aug 06, 2018 11:47 am

I would like to read what might be some of the impact of me attending an online type distance learning law school. I am currently a doctor of chiropractic and I always wanted to study law. I do not want to retire as a chiropractor -- the profession is too limited an in order to make a lot of money I need to push care I Am not comfortable with "long-term corrective care." I also support my family and I prefer to be able to do an independent study program through a registered correspondence school here in San Diego. (actually the school is located elsewhere in CA but that is not relevant.

My question is, with respect to the bar/baby bar, is not the material, the material, no matter what school I go to? Contracts is contracts, whether I attend Boalt Hall (sp) or Abe Lincoln? and when I sit down to take that bar, it is just me, my brain and the bar. I get that some top law schools would bring some big-name professors, but would they bring secret material to the lectures for passing the bar? These subjects on the bar have been around for decades and the information needed to be competent has been around circulating just as long? Is there any other reason why I would want to go to a diff, accred school? You see, the school I chose is only about $15k total for 4 years. So why would I want to spend more and go to a traditional if I am going to be in business for myself and get my own clients (immigration law in San Diego)?

I have come to this understanding that the baby bar could be a good thing. It will get me ready earlier for what it is like to take the bar and that the lower pass rates for non-aba schools are a reflection of the individuals going to these schools, and not the schools themselves.