GWU ($$) vs. Fordham (unknown but $ or 0) Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
MaxMcMann

Bronze

GWU ($$) vs. Fordham (unknown but $ or 0)

Post by MaxMcMann » Thu Jul 12, 2018 2:34 pm

I got into GWU with a 105k scholarship. My goal is to practice BigLaw in NY, although from my years as a paralegal I have good connections at a small firm and a midlaw firm and am pretty confident I could get an interview at either, and probably a near guaranteed position at the former. I honestly wouldn't even be averse to a below market firm as I've seen enough people struggle 5-10 years then develop a nice career from what is called shitlaw here.

I have parents who are in a good position to help me with the balance of tuition, although obviously they'd prefer I go to the cheapest school possible (as immigrants, unreasonably so - they urged me to consider St. John's level full rides which I think is an obviously bad idea). I'm waitlisted at 3 T14s and would obviously go to any of them at sticker, but given how oversubscribed they are and my stats, I put my odds of that becoming a consideration somewhere in the "mega millions winner" probability spectrum.

I have wanted Fordham since the beginning. My GPA is 3.1 and my LSATs were 169, 169 and 164 (canceled June last year due to medical issue, did September, December and one last ditch shot in June which clearly fell short). I have C&F issues and am also 27 years old at this point, so I don't feel like retaking yet again is the way to go. As I'm sure you can tell, I did not take college all that seriously.