UCI Law vs Boston College Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
kingshamu

New

UCI Law vs Boston College

Post by kingshamu » Tue Apr 10, 2018 8:11 pm

Hey all,

I have to make a difficult decision today. I received a 164 on my LSAT and have a undergraduate GPA of ~3.4 The 164 was quite low for me, as I normally scored in the 170+ range on practice tests. Regardless, I do not want to take a gap year and have to go with what I got. I may still retake the June LSAT to increase my chances of getting off the waitlist at some of the schools I have been waitlisted at, but that's a concern for a later time.

I majored in Chemistry at U.C. Berkeley and want to go into big-law. Specifically, I would like to go into patent law. UCI has given me a scholarship of $20,000 per year, and I am currently in the process of negotiating a slight increase to this scholarsihp. UCI is also only 10 miles from my home, so I would be able to commute from home, saving living expenses. As a result, my parents have agreed to contribute $12,000 per year if I go to UCI, bringing the totally cost of attendance of UCI to around $13,000/year. I have also received a $22,000 scholarship per year to BC, and my parents have agreed to pay for living expenses if I go there. Therefore, the cost of attendance to go to BC will be about $30,000 a year for me.

I'm aware that BC has a very strong alumni network, and patent law is kind of hot in Boston right now. I'm also aware that a greater percentage of BC graduates go into biglaw than UCI graduates. That being said, I do know that an entry level patent prosecutor in Orange County makes around 150-175k per year, which is around the same median salary that BC graduates boast. I'm also aware that a lot of UCI graduates focus on public-interest, so self-selection may play a role in why fewer UCI graduates go into big-law.