Cornell v Penn v Duke v UCLA Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
DanialTA

New

Cornell v Penn v Duke v UCLA

Post by DanialTA » Mon Apr 02, 2018 8:42 am

Hi, I'm an international student from Canada and I've been accepted by Cornell, UCLA, Penn and Duke. The cost of living for the Cornell, Penn and Duke are around $85-90,000 a year all in. And UCLA is a bit cheaper at $75,000. My goal is BigLaw in NYC and from what I understand UCLA is a pretty regional school so I've already pretty much ruled it out, but in case this board knows something I don't about UCLA, I've included it. It's between Cornell, Penn and Duke, Penn is the highest ranked school but Cornell is in upstate NY so I don't know if that makes any difference for my aspirations towards NYC BigLaw. Just want some advice on what is the best option.

As for finances, I am fortunate enough to be able to pay my way through all of the above with no debt, so finances aren't really effecting my decisions, just want to go with what is best for my goals.

beinghuman

Re: Cornell v Penn v Duke v UCLA

Post by beinghuman » Mon Apr 02, 2018 1:33 pm

Since money isn't an issue, I can tell you that Cornell places very well in NYC biglaw. Penn is ranked higher and also has excellent placement outcomes.
I think that Penn and Cornell place better than Duke and much better than UCLA. So I'd say, if you want the higher ranking and/or living in a city, go with Penn. If you'd like to live in a college town (Ithaca is a pleasant place, imo), Cornell would be a good choice. In terms of career outcomes, the differences between both schools would be marginal. If you can, you should visit both schools and see how you feel about them.

d373

New

Post by d373 » Mon Apr 02, 2018 3:05 pm

You are right about UCLA. Great school but not a great school for NYC biglaw, as least as compared to the other schools you're considering.