Northwestern (120k) vs Cornell (120k) Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Lord Rochford

New

Northwestern (120k) vs Cornell (120k)

Post by Lord Rochford » Sun Mar 25, 2018 1:40 pm

Hello everyone,

I'm a prospective law student and have narrowed down my options to Northwestern Pritzker in Chicago and Cornell. Both are offering 120k in scholarship money. Both are excellent options but I am having a hard time deciding which school to choose as they will offer me very different experiences.

In terms of location, I do enjoy Chicago but also enjoy how peaceful Ithaca is. But I worry that Ithaca might get old after the first semester or year.

In terms of school culture, I have liked both. However, I am 30 and am assuming that Northwestern's student body might be older on average, which would make socializing easier or more interesting for me.

Northwestern also has better IP class offerings than Cornell and this is an area that I am interested in, along with corporate/business.

I also like to the possibility of being able to take classes at the Kellogg school but dislike that Northwestern law is far away from the main campus. From that perspective, Cornell felt more interesting.

In terms of career goals, I would like to clerk after law school and work in the private sector then potentially do something in local or national politics. I am not however sure where I'd like to be (Chicago or the east coast are my preferred areas).

Assuming I receive no extra money from either school, what advice would you guys give me? Any insights would be welcome.

Thanks!

beinghuman

Re: Northwestern (120k) vs Cornell (120k)

Post by beinghuman » Sat Mar 31, 2018 4:06 pm

Both are great schools so it's tough to say. I agree though that NU and Cornell will offer you very different law school experiences.

blackmamba8

Bronze

Post by blackmamba8 » Sat Mar 31, 2018 4:40 pm

Would you rather go to law school in a college town or a big city?

Lord Rochford

New