US or British Law Schools Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
mikecronin7

New

US or British Law Schools

Post by mikecronin7 » Mon Feb 12, 2018 1:41 pm

Hello everyone,

From all of the research I've been doing it seems to me that this isn't a very widely explored path for American graduates. However, I am an American student who obtained a bachelors in Philosophy with a minor in Legal Studies. I am currently in the process of deciding between attending law school in the United States or a 2 year graduate LLB in the United Kingdom and I would love some advice.

Forget about things such as cost of living, and student visas, i am a citizen of both the US and UK and have places to live in both countries, so those things do not matter in my decision.

What does matter is that the UK schools are cheaper, and take less time (as well as offer the unique experience of living and working in a different country). So i would love to attend one of them. However, in my future I see myself coming back to the United States for life. So what I am asking is, would an American student with an American bachelors but a British law degree have a the same, lesser or greater job value in the American legal job market? My focus is International law and I can imagine how my unique experience must be valued in some way. I even have taken a year between undergrad and law school to live and work in Madrid if that also has any impact.

Any advice in this decision would be appreciated. Also if anyone is aware of someone who has gotten an American Bachelors and went abroad for law school that I could get in contact with, that would be much appreciated.

Thank you.

sparkytrainer

Silver

Re: US or British Law Schools

Post by sparkytrainer » Mon Feb 12, 2018 2:11 pm

You can't sit for the bar with an LLB. So go to an English law school all you want, but you will still have to do a JD if you want to practice in the U.S., given that you are a U.S. citizen it seems.