NYC lower tier as bad as they say? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
ANGRYBALLCOACH

New

NYC lower tier as bad as they say?

Post by ANGRYBALLCOACH » Tue Jan 23, 2018 7:16 pm

I've been a lurker on here for a while and figured I'd finally make an account...

Here is my situation:
3.86 GPA
152 LSAT (retaking obvi)
NYC resident so the room and board s̶c̶a̶m̶ isn't an issue
NOT looking for Big Law

Obviously NYU and Columbia ain't happening.
I refuse to pay sticker anywhere, student loans are predatory practice and I refuse to be a victim; personally I rather break concrete for a living (debt free) than owe $180,000+ on a high interest loan that survives bankruptcy.

So I have limited my (realistic) options to the local lower tier schools.
Are they as bad as people say?

Is it a realistic career goal to go to NYLS/Brooklyn/Car-"Bozo" (on significant scholarship) or just pay sticker at CUNY; in order to pursue a career in "small law": aka Real Estate, ADA, Bankruptcy, civil suits, etc.

Edit- will only attend listed schools if given decent scholarship package
Last edited by ANGRYBALLCOACH on Tue Jan 23, 2018 7:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

pancakes3

Platinum

Re: NYC lower tier as bad as they say?

Post by pancakes3 » Tue Jan 23, 2018 7:20 pm

you're refusing to fall victim to one form of predation and open to the idea of other forms of predation

Barack O'Drama

Gold

Post by Barack O'Drama » Tue Jan 23, 2018 7:31 pm

ANGRYBALLCOACH wrote:I've been a lurker on here for a while and figured I'd finally make an account...

Here is my situation:
3.86 GPA
152 LSAT (retaking obvi)
NOT looking for Big Law

I refuse to pay sticker anywhere, student loans are predatory practice and I refuse to be a victim; personally I rather break concrete for a living (debt free) than owe $180,000+ on a high interest loan that survives bankruptcy.