Should I attend a law school that doesn't have my specific concentration? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Kittykat2199

New

Should I attend a law school that doesn't have my specific concentration?

Post by Kittykat2199 » Sun Dec 10, 2017 3:06 pm

Hi all, first timer over here. I'm currently a junior in undergrad but will be graduating a semester early next December. Just sort of figured out I want to go to law school over the last couple of months. Right now I'm very interested in family law. From what I've looked at there aren't that many higher ranked schools out there that allow you to specialize in that field, at least in the areas of the country that I want to go to law school in (Southeast or Southwest). So I guess my question is, how important is it that the field of law you want to go in is specialized by the school you attend? let's say I went to a top 50 school that didn't specialize in family law, would I have a really tough time getting in job in that type of law, even though I attended a good school? Any input would be awesome, thanks guys.

BlendedUnicorn

Platinum

Re: Should I attend a law school that doesn't have my specific concentration?

Post by BlendedUnicorn » Sun Dec 10, 2017 3:17 pm

My first instinct is to say that nothing could be less important than going to a law school with a given specialty.

However, if you REALLY want to do family law, connections are going to be paramount so probably going to a school in the place you want to work and for cheap is going to be more important than the usual maximize preftige advice TLS generally gives.

landshoes

Silver

Post by landshoes » Sun Dec 10, 2017 3:24 pm

Where do you have connections?

Law school is not like undergrad, there’s not really anything like a major.