UVA vs UT vs others for Texas Biglaw Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
dallinpackard

New

UVA vs UT vs others for Texas Biglaw

Post by dallinpackard » Sun Dec 03, 2017 9:31 pm

UVA cost of attendance: $125,370
UT cost of attendance: $141,481
Mchigan cost of attendance: $105,058
Duke/Michigan COA is unknown, but likely similar to UVA.
throw in CCN at sticker

I have already received a Dean's scholarship at UVA ($120,000, cutting COA in half), and am assuming for the purposes of this post that I can use it to negotiate for a similar deal at Duke (admitted, financial aid pending), so this is still slightly hypothetical. For reference my stats are 3.6 172.

My goal is to work in Texas as a patent prosecutor/litigator, hopefully at biglaw. I have an EE degree, so I know I am already a decent looking applicant based off of my undergrad. I know that UT reigns in Texas, but I also know that I would need to be around the top third of my class in order to secure a biglaw position. Would UVA be the better choice here? Their clerkship rates are also highly appealing. I threw in CCN because I'll likely have the option of at least one of them at sticker.

Also, I am wondering what the best strategy would be for scholarship reconsideration at UT? I was offered 8k a year, but am hoping they will reconsider given my UVA offer. They open for a one-time reconsideration Feb 1. Should I open up then with UVA, or wait a bit longer to see if other schools come through with better offers?

EDIT: Michigan threw me a curve ball and offered me a ton of money. Thoughts?
Last edited by dallinpackard on Mon Jan 22, 2018 6:29 pm, edited 2 times in total.

chargers21

Gold

Re: UVA vs UT vs others for Texas Biglaw

Post by chargers21 » Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:20 am

This probably depends on how you rank certain jobs. Is it texas BL > BL > Texas jobs, or tx BL > other TX jobs > other BL? Personally, I would go to UVA/Duke especially if you have strong Texas ties

okaygo