Thoughts on My List for Florida / Pennsylvania Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
fourwinds

New

Thoughts on My List for Florida / Pennsylvania

Post by fourwinds » Wed Nov 01, 2017 12:28 pm

I am in my final year of undergrad in Florida, about to graduate in May. I'm looking to apply to law school for Fall 2018. My LSAT is 156. I've lived in Florida for the past 10 years, but most of my family lives in south-central Pennsylvania. All of my professional connections are in Florida and all of my family connections are in Pennsylvania. I'm planning on applying to law schools in both places to compare my options. Being a FL resident gives me some pretty cheap options down here.

I'm interested in estate planning / tax law at a small to medium-sized firm. If I stay in Florida I want to work in Miami; if I go to Pennsylvania I want to work in Pittsburgh or Philadelphia, leaning towards Pittsburgh at this point. I realize with my LSAT and the schools below that biglaw / biglaw money is not going to happen, but I'd like to be employed where I will fit. Open to government work as well if it's related to tax.

Here are the nine schools I'm looking at broken down by market.

Miami Market: (in preference order)
1. University of Florida
2. University of Miami

Florida government: (I've read FSU doesn't place well in Miami)
- Florida State University

Tampa / St. Petersburg market (where I live now)
- Stetson University (will get $$$ and have local connections in area, making it a good safety)

Pittsburgh Market:
1. University of Pittsburgh
2. Duquesne University (will get $$$$)

Hopefully has reach to Pittsburgh:
- Dickinson Law (my parents live 30 minutes from campus and I can live with them for free)

Philly Market:
1. Temple University
2. Villanova

FamilyLawEsq

Bronze

Re: Thoughts on My List for Florida / Pennsylvania

Post by FamilyLawEsq » Wed Nov 01, 2017 3:28 pm

My post on your other thread: