Pitt vs Rutgers ??? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
ARC908

New

Pitt vs Rutgers ???

Post by ARC908 » Thu May 04, 2017 6:11 pm

I was pretty sold on the University of Pittsburgh (82 on US News Rankings), I've been visiting the city to see friends at undergrad there for years, very used to getting around the area. Then Rutgers (62 on Us News Rankings) came in and threw me for a loop. I'm an NJ resident so I'd be paying a lot less tuition, but I've heard mixed reviews about Rutgers (Newark and Camden, I have the option for either). I've also heard that Pittsburgh is one of those cities/schools that is on the rise. Any opinions/personal experiences?

Pitt: $22K scholarship
Rutgers: $8K scholarship + in state tuition

Undergrad GPA: 2.5
LSAT: 159

cavalier1138

Re: Pitt vs Rutgers ???

Post by cavalier1138 » Thu May 04, 2017 6:23 pm

What are your career goals? And cost of attendance at each school?

ARC908

New

Post by ARC908 » Thu May 04, 2017 6:52 pm

Career goals are very open, I'm just hoping to find an area of law that I enjoy once I start taking classes. Sounds very wishy-washy but I'm not committed to any one type of practice at this time yet.

Cost of Attendance at Rutgers is $24K + housing, living, etc.
Cost of Attendance at Pitt is $41K + housing, living, etc.

Rigo

Diamond

Post by Rigo » Thu May 04, 2017 7:04 pm

You definitely shouldn't pay that much for Pitt. Rutgers is even too expensive imo, but of the two, it's they way to go on money alone.

We need more info on your goals though.
Also, would you be able to commute from home to Rutgers to save money?

There are mixed reviews on both schools because neither are great. You're probably just more exposed to Rutgers criticism being from NJ.

ARC908

New

Post by ARC908 » Thu May 04, 2017 7:28 pm