Picking a Cali school Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
SDAW2012

New

Picking a Cali school

Post by SDAW2012 » Sun Apr 16, 2017 7:34 pm

I probably won't have the stats to get into any of the top-tier Cali schools. I had a ~3.6 UGPA but when it's adjusted by tCAS I expect it to drop into the 3.1-3.3 range. I'm PTing at ~160 and I'll be taking the LSAT in June. I'll probably continue to study all summer and take another shot at it in September, but I don't expect to improve much beyond a 160 -- I've been working on my score for almost two years and I think I'm performing about as well as I'm capable of. So my range will probably be from 3.1/~160 to 3.3/~160 (if I don't hit at least a 160 on either test I'll probably withhold my applications).

Stanford, Berkeley, UCLA, and USC are off the board. I don't think I have great chances with Davis and Irvine either -- and if I were to get in, I don't think I'd get any money. Outside of that, Cali schools really fall off in terms of quality and placement rates. I won't attend a bad school at sticker price. This puts me in a sticky situation because I want to practice law in California.

Am I likely to get money at USD, Hastings, Loyola, or Pepperdine? Would it be better to spend a ton of money to attend Irvine or Davis (in the event that I got accepted) than to take a scholarship at a place like USD?

FWIW I have family in San Diego and that's where I'd really like to end up if possible -- but I'd be happy anywhere in Cali so long as it isn't north of Sacramento.

Thanks!

Veil of Ignorance

Bronze

Re: Picking a Cali school

Post by Veil of Ignorance » Sun Apr 16, 2017 7:42 pm