Help me decide on a school? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
tigerlily13

New

Help me decide on a school?

Post by tigerlily13 » Tue Mar 28, 2017 4:39 pm

I'm from CT and am really interested in either ending up in DC (I'm studying international law so the ideal career would be something in international dispute resolution or working as a consultant for the UN or a foreign government, but I know those kinds of jobs are hard to get) or NYC so I can stay close to my family in Greenwich. I really want to work in diplomacy, and national security law is also something I'm highly interested in. I'm also far more interested in PI/government jobs than big law, so big law placement is not something I'm concerned with at all. I'm center-left politically, but I'm also an Iranian Muslim so going somewhere too far south or that is highly conservative isn't something I'm interested in.

So far, the schools I'm considering that I've gotten into are:
- Washington & Lee (I received a near full scholarship so my debt for all three years would be around $44,000 with rent and living expenses)
- Indiana Bloomington (OOS so ~$90,000 with rent/living expenses)
- UCONN (IS with a 75% scholarship, so ~ $53,000 with rent and living expenses, even less if I decide to live at home and commute an hour to class)
- American ($115,000 debt - it kills me because I received my acceptance after the need-based grant application deadline, so I couldn't apply, but that means this number might go down :/ Also I know they aren't well-regarded overall, but they have a top 10 international law program, and my cousin who graduated last summer has a job at a big law firm in NYC now)
- George Mason ($78,000 debt)