Yale, Stanford and Harvard for IP & NYC biglaw Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Yale, Stanford and Harvard for IP law in NYC biglaw

Yale
32%
Stanford
42%
Harvard
26%

Total votes: 38

ChelseaZ

New

Yale, Stanford and Harvard for IP & NYC biglaw

Post by ChelseaZ » Wed Feb 15, 2017 3:42 pm

First of all, let me start off saying that I am enormously grateful for having both programs and this struggle. But for me the struggle is real. Therefore any advice / suggestion is needed. In return, I can answer questions for law school applications & proofread ps for those who need an extra person to consult.

I am just gonna list my background, career goal etc.

I am an international student. Want to pursue a career in intellectual property law (ideally start with a standard NYC biglaw) first and later switch to entrepreneurship & start up. I am a KJD, double major in Physics & Philosophy. I am not interested in PI. I have a lot of connections and friends in Boston, but I don't necessarily prefer Boston over New Haven as my undergraduate was in a very small college town. I am very interested in Technology, Philosophy and Music. I also got into a MIT Phd program, which I was thinking of dual-programming if I go to HLS. But does a PhD from MIT help me in my career goal?

So the question is: given my background and career goal, is Yale still a no-brainer? If I want to go to NYC biglaw and later possibly to Bay area, will Yale give me better chance than Harvard?

Thank you tls friends!
Last edited by ChelseaZ on Mon Feb 20, 2017 6:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

RedPurpleBlue

Silver

Re: Yale vs. Harvard

Post by RedPurpleBlue » Wed Feb 15, 2017 7:38 pm