I know I have to wait a bit, but... UMich? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
S.Picquery

Silver

I know I have to wait a bit, but... UMich?

Post by S.Picquery » Sun Jan 01, 2017 10:31 am

I know I have more factors to consider, including scholarship options, etc. But, as we are all (for the most part) in that purgatory between applying and receiving all our decisions, perhaps this may give us something to do.

1. I love UMich. Everything I've heard/seen is amazing. I love talking to Dean Z, current students, and have friends there. Plus, I got accepted like a week after I went Complete. My background is in gender and the law (I can get more specific if you want) and they have a journal for that, as well as very strong class offerings. Plus, Catherine MacKinnon teaches there (I wrote papers about her work, this is super exciting for a nerd like me).
2. I love my partner. We've been together for 7 years, will be getting married probably around the time I graduate in 2020. My partner is studying for the MCATs, and will be off to med school after we get married. I'd like my degree to allow me to be able to follow around like a puppy (even if this doesn't work out, we've done long distance for years before, but I'd like the option).
3. When all is said and done, we are likely to end up back in NYC or Atlanta for post med-school times in our lives.

Is it silly to want to go to UMich if I get into say... UChicago for travel-ability? Is it even preferable over maybe something like a full-ride to Emory if I prefer Atlanta to NYC? Is there just not enough info and I should shut up until I get real-life acceptances/scholarship offers?

It's been a long, hard road friends, and being a splitter isn't helping the anxiety (175/3.0). So, I suppose, just let me know what you think? I look forward to hearing from you all!

Clemenceau

Silver

Re: I know I have to wait a bit, but... UMich?

Post by Clemenceau » Sun Jan 01, 2017 10:38 am